HI,

I'M a noob here, and i live in culver city. I've tried fishing at the SAMO pier but I really find surf fishing interesting and would like to try it. My question is, where exactly is it ok in SAMO beach to go surf fishing? I work in SAMO and I would not want to drive as far as malibu just to go surf fishing. any input would be well appreciated.

Rod Combos
    Rainshadow crank bait 7'6" 8-14 lbs with Curado 200E7, Curado 200E7, Clarus CRCD70M
    PB Fish Species
    20" Corbina, YFC 14.5", 13" BSP, 14" Spotfin, Sandbass 20" 21.5" Halibut on the surrf.
    Images
    Hello ! Welcome !

I'm gonna let the anglers that work Santa Monica to give you the hot tips fishing that area.

Beach Brother
    PB Fish Species
    14" BSP, 29" Halibut, 26" Corbina, 16" Sargo, 20" Calico, 22" YF Croaker, 22" Striped Bass
    Hey luv2fish, ive fished all up and down samo the last few months. Perch in the bay have been off but it seems to be picking up. Been seeing corbina in the surf lately. Ive been catching halibut the last month from will Rogers all the way to marina Del rey. Halibut has been the main draw for me lately, using lucky craft flash minnows.color preference changes daily. Also, just recently there have been alot of leopard sharks and rays in the water. Thinking about breaking out the heavy gear and having a go at them.

As for specific places to go, you can fish wherever you want. I just try to stay away from the swimmers. Would hate to sink my luckycraft into some kid. Usually early morning weekends and most of the time on weekdays the beaches are wide open. From CC, you might consider dockwiler just south of the marina. Surf fishing aroand samo pier north and south seems to be decent, but as ive said, perch have been scarce. Doesnt mean that they won't show up any day along with corbina and croaker.

Beach Brother
    Rod Combos